Rules of golf Test

Name: ______________________________________________ Score: ____________

1. If you hit your ball into a bunker you can ground your club Grounding the Club.
a. True 
b. False
2. Your ball rests in a bush, you wish to take an unplayable lie. Which of the following CAN you do (circle all that apply) Unplayable Lie?
a. 2 club lengths no closer to the hole
b. 1 club length but can be closer to the hole
c. Play from where you last played
d. Go as far back, keeping the ball between you and the hole
e. Clean your ball before playing
3. Your opponent scores a 5 but you believe he had 6. You MUST do which of the following (circle all that apply):
a. Seek a ruling from the coaches
b. tell opponent of the facts
c. Play two balls through the end of the hole. Things can be sorted out later. 
d. notify the opponent
e. it must be made before the next hole begins
4. Your opponent had the honors on the 3rd hole. You have played 4 more holes (both players tied all 4 holes). Who has the honors on the next hole?
a. You
b. Opponent
5. Your ball has landed on a cart path. How do you proceed if you want relief Nearest Point of Relief?
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6. You hit your ball from the tee and it looks like it may be out of bounds. What SHOULD you do (circle all that apply) Out of Bounds or Lost Ball?
a. Walk up to the area and see if the ball is out
b. Walk back to the tee and hit another ball
c. Declare that you are hitting another ball as a provisional
d. Hit a second ball in case the first is OB
e. Drop a ball where it appeared to go OB
7. That same ball has been determined that it is OB. After following the correct procedures, you hit your approach to the green and 2 putt. What is your score Out of Bounds or Lost Ball, Provisional Ball?  
8. On a long par 5 you are 100 yards away from the green in two. Your 3rd shot goes over the green into some very tall grass. You walk over to the area where you think it landed. You can’t find the ball. What SHOULD you do (circle all that apply) Out of Bounds or Lost Ball, Provisional Ball?
a. Walk up to the area and see if the ball is lost
b. Walk back to the place where you last hit and hit another ball
c. Declare that you are hitting another ball as a provisional
d. Hit a second ball in case the first is lost
e. Drop a ball where it appeared to be lost
9. From number 8 above. Seeing that the ball is lost, after following the correct procedures and then getting on the green and 2 putting, what is your score Out of Bounds or Lost Ball, Provisional Ball?   
10. Your ball has landed on a sprinkler head in the fairway. You are looking for relief. How many club lengths can you drop the ball Immovable Obstruction?   
11. The ball was hit into high grass. You are trying to find it. What CAN you do (circle all that apply) Identifying your Ball, Identifying your Ball, Identifying your Ball?
a. Pick up the ball
b. Clean your ball
c. Use your club to move the grass around to find the ball
d. Step on the ball
e. Stamp down the grass to make it easier to locate
f. Use 7 minutes to find the ball
12. You are taking a drop because of a penalty. How many club lengths can you take?   
13. You are taking a drop because of free relief. How many club lengths can you take Nearest Point of Relief?   
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Figure 1


14. Look at figure 1 to the right. From the tee, your ball has landed in a yellow (regular) water hazard. It crossed at point X. What are all of the possible places (use the letters) you could drop the ball Water Hazards?   


15. [bookmark: _GoBack]Look at figure 1 above. From the tee, your ball has landed in a red (lateral) water hazard. It crossed at point X. What are all of the possible places you could drop the ball Water Hazards?   

16. Your ball has landed in a bunker. You notice that a small acorn is right behind the ball. Can you move the acorn Loose Impediments?   

17. You have hit your ball into the trees. The ball has come to rest touching a soda can.  Play the course as you find it, Movable Obstructions. 
a. Can you move the can?   
b. If the ball moves, do you incur a penalty?   
18. You have hit your ball into the trees. The ball has come to rest with a broken branch resting over the ball Loose Impediments. 
a. Can you move the branch?   
b. You have decided to move the branch. Do you incur a penalty?   
c. During the removal of the branch, the ball moves, do you incur a penalty?   
19. Your ball has landed up against a wall. This wall marks the OB on the hole. Do you get to move the ball Movable Obstructions, Out of Bounds Markers?  
20. Your ball has landed on the white OB line. Some of the ball is OB and some of it is in bounds. Is your ball OB   White Line Indicating OB?  
21. Your opponent has played someone else’s ball from the fairway. You are next to play. You play your partners’ ball. What happens (circle all that apply)  Wrong Ball?
a. Put the balls back where they were and play on, no penalty
b. You lose the hole
c. The opponent loses the hole
d. Both are disqualified from the hole
e. Each should play a second ball and record the score to be sorted out with the coaches
22. You have played out of turn. What CAN the opponent do (circle all that apply)  Playing Out of Turn?
a. Tell you that you have lost the hole
b. Request you play the shot again from the same shot
c. Tell you that you have incurred a one stroke penalty
d. Nothing at all
23. You are in a rush and don’t want to wait for the flag to be removed from the hole while you putt. Your ball hits the flag. What happens next (circle all that apply)?
a. You incur a one stroke penalty
b. You incur a two stroke penalty
c. You lose the hole
d. The opponent can ask you to replay the shot
24. Your ball is only slightly in the water hazard. You think you have a shot. You take a stance in the hazard. Your practice swing hits a blade of grass. You then take your shot. What happens next (circle all that apply) Water Hazards?
a. Nothing
b. You lose the hole
c. You incur a one stroke penalty and play on
d. You must take a drop and play again
25. A rain storm has just passed. Everyone resumes play. You walk up to your ball and notice that water is squishing out from the sides of your shoes. What CAN you do (circle all that apply) Abnormal Ground Conditions?
a. Clean your ball
b. Nothing, just play as usual
c. Drop the ball to an area where there is no water (no penalty)
d. Take a drop any where there is no water (1 stroke penalty)
26. Your 2nd shot has landed in some high grass. You take your stance and take a swing at the ball. The ball has not moved at all. Your next shot is onto the green. You 2 putt. What is your score?   

27. Your ball has landed in its own pitch mark on the fairway. What CAN you do (circle all that apply)?   Embedded Ball
a. Clean it 
b. Lift the ball and place it (no nearer the hole)
c. Drop the ball as close to the mark as possible
d. Nothing (you must play the ball as it lies)
28. Your ball has landed in its own pitch mark in the rough. What CAN you do (circle all that apply)?
a. Clean it 
b. Lift the ball and place it (no nearer the hole)
c. Drop the ball as close to the mark as possible
d. Nothing (you must play the ball as it lies)
29. Your ball has landed in its own pitch mark in a bunker. What CAN you do (circle all that apply)?  Embedded Ball in a Bunker
a. Clean it 
b. Lift the ball and place it (no nearer the hole)
c. Drop the ball as close to the mark as possible
d. Nothing (you must play the ball as it lies)
e. Declare the ball unplayable
30. Your ball has landed in some small trees and brush. You have a shot. You are testing out your swing to see if the shot can be successfully done. While taking your stance, you get jabbed with a small branch. Which CAN you do (circle all that apply) Play the course as you find it?
a. Break the branch so it no longer is a dangerous situation
b. Slide in so the branch now is moved behind you so it does not hurt
c. Take a fair stance
d. Place a towel over the branch so it will not hurt you
e. Have your partner hold the branch while taking your shot
31. Your ball is sitting under a low branch (about 3 or 4 feet above the ground). You have decided to play the ball as it lies. You have to kneel on both knees in order to play the shot. The ground is damp. You place a towel under your knee so as not to get wet. What happens (circle all that apply)?  Building a Stance
a. Nothing
b. You incur a one stroke penalty and play on
c. Lose the hole
d. You incur a two stroke penalty and play on
32. You’re in a bunker. The ball is on a slope. You walk in and place your feet for your stance. You begin to dig in and pile up the sand so you have a level stance. What happens (circle all that apply) Play the course as you find it, Building a Stance?
a. Nothing
b. You incur a one stroke penalty and play on
c. Lose the hole
d. You incur a two stroke penalty and play on
33. You have hit your tee shot off the fairway and directly behind the small bathroom facility.  The ball is not in the facility; it is not so close that you would strike the facility during your swing. Circle all of the options that you could do Immovable Obstruction
a. Get free relief and drop within one club length
b. Find the nearest point of relief
c. Find the nearest point of relief sideways so you can see the green and play down the fairway
d. Hit the ball where it lies
e. Go as far back as you want on a straight line from the hole and the ball
34. [image: ]Your ball has come to rest near these animal holes (See Figure 2). What places (marked A,B,C,D) are you allowed to get free relief Abnormal Ground Conditions?Figure 2

a. A
b. B
c. C
d. D
35. Your ball has come to rest on some very bad turf. The turf is dry, packed, has rocks and sticks. The area is not marked off with a white line. You can get free relief?
a. True
b. False
36. You’re in a match and you notice that the greens have been plugged. You ask your opponent if he/she is willing to allow both of you the option to move your ball out of one of the plugs anytime the ball is on the green. You both agree. What happens?  Agreeing to Waive the Rules
a. Nothing, as long as you both play by the agreement
b. You are DQ for suggesting it
c. Both of you are DQ for agreeing to it
d. One stroke penalty and you must replace the ball to its original position
37. Your ball has come to rest up against an old golf glove left on the fairway. What can you do? Movable and Immovable Obstructions
a. Play the ball as it lies
b. Move the glove
c. Mark the ball and move the glove
d. Drop within one club length, no penalty
38. Your ball has come to rest up against a rake left in the rough by a fairway bunker. Upon attempting to get the ball back in play, the ball rolls into the bunker. What can you do? Movable and Immovable Obstructions
a. Play the ball as it lies, no penalty
b. Play the ball as it lies, one stroke penalty
c. Drop the ball as close to where it originally lay
d. Place the ball as close to where it originally lay
39. You have hit the ball out of a bunker and the ball has gone in the hole. Your shot has won the match. The ball rests up against the flagstick near the top of the hole. You pick the ball out of the hole. What happens next? When a Ball is Deemed to be Holed
a. Nothing
b. One stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced
c. Shake hands and congratulate the opponent
d. Play the ball from where it lies
40. You have broken your driver and ask your partner to use their driver. Is this allowable?  Sharing Clubs
a. No, never
b. Yes, if the opponents don’t mind
c. Yes, if the total number of clubs between both of you is less than 15
d. No if the opponents say you can’t 
image1.png




image2.png




